Discover You™ is built on three qualitative frameworks derived from scientifically based and researched bodies of knowledge: PERMAH pillars from positive psychology, Social and Emotional Learning from the Collaborative for Academic, Social, and Emotional Learning (CASEL), and Developmental Assets from The Search Institute. By focusing the content and application methods of Discover You™ on these researched frameworks, we can be certain the lives of youth are meaningfully impacted.

Wellbeing (PERMAH)

Positive psychology recognizes six pillars of wellbeing. Martin Seligman, one of the founders of psychology, identified five pillars of wellbeing, with sixth being generally accepted. These include:

  • Positive emotion (happiness / feeling good)
  • Engagement (finding flow)
  • Relationships (authentic connections)
  • Meaning and purpose (purposeful existence)
  • Accomplishment (a sense of such)
  • Health and vitality (strength and energy)

Social and Emotional Learning

A social and emotional learning (SEL) approach encompasses the whole child. It takes into consideration that for youth to thrive and learn, they requires social and personal skills.

The five core competencies that comprise SEL are:

  • Self-awareness: knowing your strengths and limitations with a well-grounded sense of confidence, optimism and a growth mindset
  • Self-management: Effectively managing stress, controlling impulses and motivating yourself to set and achieve goals
  • Social awareness: understanding the perspectives of others and empathizing with them, including those from diverse backgrounds and cultures
  • Relationship skills: communicating clearly, listening well, cooperating with others, resisting inappropriate social pressure, negotiating conflict constructively, and seeking and offering help when needed
  • Responsible decision-making: making constructive choices about personal behavior and social interactions based on ethical standards, safety, and social norms

Developmental Assets

The Search Institute has identified building blocks of healthy development – known as Developmental Assets – that help young people grow up to be healthy, caring and responsible. The Developmental Assets are 40 research-based, positive experiences and qualities grouped into four external and four internal categories:

  •  External Assets: Support, Empowerment, Boundaries and Expectations, Constructive Use of Time
  • Internal Assets: Commitment to Learning, Positive Attitudes, Social Competencies, Positive Identity

Over time, studies of more than five million young people consistently show that the more assets young people have, the less likely they are to engage in a wide range of high-risk behaviors and the more likely they are to thrive.


Office Location

2205 Jefferson Ave., Midland, MI 48640